Older SCMS Recordings

Ludwig van Beethoven: The Op. 5 Sonatas for fortepiano & violoncello

James Weaver, fortepiano; Kenneth Slowik, violoncello

Smithsonian Collection of Recordings ND 0323

Beethoven: Sonata in F Major, Op. 5, No. 1; Sonata in G Minor, Op. 5, No. 2

Classical Record of the Year 1988

Slowik and Weaver make this music sound really interesting (as opposed to pleasantly insignificant) for the first time in my experience. The interpretations are precise, dynamic, and, I think, breathtakingly close to what Beethoven must have had in mind.

The Washington Post
$16.00 + $2.98 shipping & handling